About Us

The AgSafe Alberta Society is an industry-led organization whose current membership consists of 26 crop and livestock producer groups. AgSafe Alberta develops and delivers farm safety management tools, resources, and programs for Alberta farmers and ranchers. The goal is to help farming operations establish practical farm safety management systems to enhance a culture of safety, where safety is a fully-integrated part of the farm.

When the Government of Alberta introduced the Bill 6 Enhanced Protection for Farm and Ranch Workers’ Act, Alberta’s agriculture industry took a proactive approach in addressing it, by joining together as the AgCoalition to advocate with one voice on behalf of Alberta’s commodity groups. The formation of AgSafe Alberta in 2018 was one of the outcomes of this coalition. The resources and services that AgSafe Alberta offers farms and ranches reflect the current requirements of the Alberta Occupational Health and Safety Act, Regulation and Code, and are informed by safety hazards identified while doing site hazard assessments on farms and ranches.

Safer farms and ranches across Alberta

To support a culture of safety on farms and ranches in Alberta through information, education, and training


The AgSafe Alberta Society held its inaugural Annual General Meeting on June 28, 2018 at the Sheraton in Red Deer, Alberta. The AGM was recorded and video proceedings are available for viewing at the following link:



After the AGM, the Government of Alberta, Alberta Labour representative, Ross Nairne (Executive Director, Occupational Health and Safety Policy and Program Development) provided a presentation and technical briefing on the new Occupational Health and Safety Requirements for Farms and Ranches in Alberta. View the Alberta Labour Technical Briefing presentation at the following link:

PASSWORD: AgSafe2018


AgSafe Alberta Society Supporting Members

Alberta Barley Commission

Alberta Beekeepers Commission

Alberta Beef Producers

Alberta Canola Producers Commission

Alberta Cattle Feeders' Association

Alberta Chicken Producers

Alberta Elk Commission

Alberta Farm Fresh Producers Association

Alberta Grazing Leaseholders Association

Alberta Greenhouse Growers Association

Alberta Hatching Egg Producers

Alberta Lamb Producers

Alberta Milk

Alberta Pork Producers

Alberta Pulse Growers Commission

Alberta Seed Growers Association

Alberta Sugar Beet Growers

Alberta Turkey Producers

Alberta Vegetable Growers (Processing)

Alberta Wheat Commission

Alfalfa Seed Commission

Bison Producers of Alberta

Egg Farmers of Alberta

Forage Network

Landscape Alberta

Potato Growers of Alberta